Product review: “ezyprotein” plus a smoothie recipe! It’s vegan too!

ezyprotein Rice protein powder and banana, apple and mango smoothie!

I have posted a little about protein before in my recipe for carob protein balls which you can read here. Protein is essential for developing body tissue such as muscles, skin, hair and nails. Protein can also assist with maintaining weight, recovering and rebuilding tissue after exercise or injury, stabilising moods, increasing energy levels, carrying oxygen around the body, and fighting of illness. Wow protein is pretty awesome! There are a whole bunch of ways to get protein into your diet through your foods such as meats, eggs, milk, nuts, beans and grains, but sometimes we need an extra boost, especially if you can’t eat all those things, which if you stumbled across this blog is a possibility! So a quick, tasty and convenient way to do this is through protein powders.

One quick myth I wanted to nip in the bud is the myth that women will get “bulky” just from drinking it. This is flawed for several reasons, some of which being:
  1. muscle doesn’t build itself just because you add more protein into your diet
  2. women’s bodies are built differently, for one we lack the obvious testosterone needed to get “bulky”
  3. protein is a necessary building block for all the things we women want to be so full of life – skin, hair, nails, so bring on the protein!
I have wanted to get my hands on a protein powder for a while, and as I was wandering around my local flannerys health food store on Saturday sampled some “Ezyprotein” organic rice protein powder. A little grainy but delicious was my first thought, so I grabbed myself a 1kg tub and today I thought I would share my review of this product.
Here is a summary from the website:

“ezyprotein is Australia’s First Certified Organic, Sprouted, Bio-Fermented, Raw, Wholegrain Brown Rice Protein Powder.A high quality, 100% plant-based complete protein containing all 8 essential amino acids, ezyprotein is ideal for vegetarians, vegans and anyone wanting to incorporate more protein into their diet.”

And some perks for the intolerants out there:

  • Certified Organic
  • Raw
  • Hypo Allergenic
  • No Added Sugar
  • Gluten-free
  • Wheat-free
  • Dairy-free
  • Lactose-free
  • Soy-free
  • No Cholesterol
  • No Animal Products
  • Non-GMO
  • No Added Colours
  • Complete Amino Acid Profile

The pro’s:

  • It’s Delicious.
  • The minimal ingredients list: for the unflavoured natural protein: 1! ONE INGREDIENT! This is the way things are supposed to be! There are only 4 ingredient in the vanilla and chocolate varieties and they are all natural.
  • It uses STEVIA as the sweetener! No sugar – YAY!
  • Provides a fantastic afternoon snack – At about 2:30 – 3pm when my afternoon craving hits in (which is also 3 hours before my bikram yoga class – convenient as you can’t eat for 3 hours before class) I have been mixing together 1 scoop of protein powder with about 250mls of rice milk and it is a sweet afternoon treat killing off my naughty cravings and keeping me feeling full until I can eat after yoga. You could mix it with any milk or milk alternative really but rice milk works for me as I don’t mind the taste of rice milk and it’s made of rice so it kinda makes sense.
  • The vanilla mix isn’t too sweet, just sweet enough. I’d like to try the natural mix next as sometimes flavour isn’t necessary when you are making a smoothie or protein based snack.
  • For me: it’s wheat free, dairy free, lactose free, sugar free – four essential things that mean I can joyfully throw this rice protein into any smoothie, glass of rice milk or protein ball treat with no hesitation.
  • It’s perfect for my vegan friends (and cousin who I always think of).

The con’s:

  • It’s a little grainy in consistency. When you mix it in a shaker with the wire mixing ball it seems to blend pretty well, but in a smoothie it can be a little grainy. I wonder if maybe I’m not blending it for long enough. Although today’s smoothie I didn’t add the flaxmeal I usually do and it seemed smoother, so maybe that was it. But in general it doesn’t seem to blend as well as some others. I like to think this is because it has less junk in it – it’s REAL, it’s not a bullshit quick powder made of synthetic rubbish. Hey look- I’ve just about turned the ONE con of this powder into a Plus! Win for Ali!

So overall I’m very happy with the ezyprotein Rice protein, my product review today is 4 1/2 out of 5 stars!

Now for a quick recipe:

Banana, apple and mango smoothie with ezyprotein

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 a mango (yay for mango season FINALLY being upon us!) Some days I put in a handful of frozen berries instead of mango for a berry twist.
  • 1 level tablespoon flaxmeal* (or as I have started using, LSA: Linseed [flax], Almond, Sunflower) *Optional
  • 1 and a 1/2 scoops of ezyprotein Rice protein powder
  • 250ml – 350ml (depending on how thick you like your smoothie) of Oat milk or other milk alternative

Method:

  1. Put all ingredients into blender and blend until smooth!

Serves: 2 regular size glasses or 1 giant smoothie

Ezyprotein Rice protein powder and delicious banana, apple and mango smoothies!

Nom nom nom! Who wants a protein snack? Can’t wait to make some awesome protein balls with this! Keep a look out!

1 Comment

Filed under FOOD, HEALTH, PRODUCT REVIEW, RECIPES

One response to “Product review: “ezyprotein” plus a smoothie recipe! It’s vegan too!

  1. Jim Armitage

    I tried the Silk Berry Ezyprotein, its the only protein drink that does not keep me awake at night, in fact quite the reverse/

Leave a Reply

