Coconut Oat Cookies: Wheat-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free

I love cookies. Who doesn’t love a biscuit with a cup of tea? I’m a person who loves to snack throughout the day but unfortunately I don’t enjoy snacking on fruit and nuts all the time. With a Candida problem several fruits have been cut-out of my diet, all dried-fruits are gone, and all other fruits have been limited to one-serving a day, which actually works in my favour. However I still needed a snack, and the following recipe which has been stitched together from several different recipes (as most of mine are) is a delicious allergy friendly version of a traditional treat.

All ingredients are as always organic and preservative free where possible.

Contains allergens as indicated in bold: eggs

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (for dairy-lovers you can swap 1/4 cup coconut oil for 1/2 cup butter)
  • 1/2 cup Xylitol (Stevia, coconut sugar, raw cane sugar [I don’t use Stevia so check your quantities, but the other sugar’s can be substituted 1 for 1] No White Processed Sugar! Yuck!)
  • 2 eggs (I will be making these this week with a flax seed egg replacement and I’ll update the recipe to vegan-optional if it is any good)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Optional: 1 tsp good quality vanilla essence* or 1 scraped vanilla pod

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius (this may lower for fan forced, I have my old temperamental oven on about 190)
  2. Combine flour, oats, coconut, xylitol
  3. Melt the coconut (microwave 30 secs, or stove-top, not too hot!), add in 2 eggs and whisk with a fork, Optional add your vanilla in here, then add in baking powder, the mix will puff up and turn lighter due to the baking powder activating in the heat of the oil and the eggs. 
  4. Pour the coconut oil mix into the dry ingredients and mix until combined
  5. Make small balls and put onto a greased (with coconut oil) cookie pan or even in a muffin tin so the cookies hold shape as they are quite crumbly, push on the balls until they flatten a little into fat cookies
  6. Bake for 12 mins, or until golden. Remove and cool.

Makes: 12-14 cookies

*Vanilla Essence in the shops will contain alcohol, sugar and water. Good quality essence can be found at a decent health food/organic store made with just alcohol, or you can make your own. Which we will do soon 🙂

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! It is a great lunch-box snack. Replacing white processed flours and sugars you make the classic oat cookie healthier all round!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wilden Grant says:

    Mmm…..Looks yummy! I’m vegan though. Any update on the egg-less variety?

    1. Ali Morris says:

      Hi Wilden, not just yet, but in the next week I’m going to test the theory out, I can let you know when I do! I have read quite a lot about combining 2 tablespoons of flax seeds in 6 tablespoons of warm water and letting it sit for a while (some sources say 5 mins, some say an hour…) to thicken and using those. Have you ever used flax eggs as a substitue?

      1. Wilden Grant says:

        No, I haven’t. Will give it a try this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

