Coconut Banana Bread! Wheat-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free, refined-sugar-free

I love Banana Bread! LOVE IT! Whenever I see it in a cafe window I think “I WANT ONE!” followed by the spoken words “Is it Wheat/Gluten free?”

Followed by: “No, sorry.”

Sad face.

Once I started having a browse it wasn’t to hard to find recipes to accomodate for many types of allergies and intolerances such as gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free, grain-free, but I found none really stood out to me, or included what I have in my pantry (a blog post to come!) so I picked bits from here and there, tried to get a basic wet/dry ratio happening and gave it a go until I liked what I got!

Since starting the diet and having my perspective changed towards what I put into my body, I don’t really like to make things using ingredients that have had the bad stuff “removed” some how, like gluten-free flour – how do they get the gluten out? I have to do some research on this area and blog about it. Until then, I prefer to use ingredients that are naturally wheat or gluten free, along with all the other “free” bits, hence why I haven’t used a packet egg-replacer – I want to use a natural egg replacement.

This recipe is almost like a cake, so moist on the inside, even after a few days in a container on the counter.  AND it is BLISSFULLY free of the following: wheat, gluten, grain, dairy, nuts, soy, and refined-sugar. I am so hoping to find an excellent naturally egg substitute (I have an idea, just need to test it out!) and THEN it will be egg-free and VEGAN! Excitement!!

Contains possible allergens as indicated in bold: egg

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup mashed bananas (3 medium slightly over-ripe bananas should do the trick, you can see in my pic, I’m actually closer to 300ml in this batch)
  • 3/4 cup Xylitol (or another granulated sugar or sugar substitute, I haven’t tried this recipe with a syrup yet, but perhaps I will. You can use raw cane sugar if you like although I’d say it will be sweeter [not to mention higher in calories], but whatever you do, stay away from the processed white stuff!! Xylitol looks so similar to white sugar, and does a fantastic job in this recipe)
  • 1 tsp baking powder (aluminium and gluten-free)
  • 1 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup Tapioca flour (ensure it is preservative-free)
  • 1 pinch of fine sea salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence or 1 scraped vanilla pod

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven at 180 degrees Celsius, grease a medium loaf tin (like a wonderbake medium loaf tin) with coconut oil (or butter, or some other kind of oil if you prefer)
  2. Mash your 3 bananas, there should be about 1 cup there, I mash mine in a glass measuring cup with a fork
  3. Mix dry ingredients in a medium bowl: xylitol, baking powder, coconut flour, tapioca flour, salt
  4. Melt coconut oil in microwave for 25-30 secs (not too hot) mix in vanilla then add in the two eggs and mix with a fork until the mix starts to raise slightly and change to a lighter colour
  5. Mix all three together, try not to over-mix but ensure all dry ingredients are combined into the wet ones. Chunky bits of banana are fine, I think they just add to the delicious flavour of the bread 
  6. Pour into the greased tin, flatten with a spoon, bake for 45-50mins, until the outside are dark golden and the top is lightly golden.
  7. Let cool for a few minutes then turn-out onto a cooling rack.
  8. Eat!

I hope you all enjoy this recipe, I know I do! Please I welcome any comments you have about this recipe!

Enjoy the day!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jordanna says:

    This looks really good!!! I am on a gluten-, soy-, oat- and grain-free diet so this recipe is something I can follow! Thank you so much for posting. I have become very creative with my cooking now. Haha. I have found Beet sugar to be great too and Coconut sugar! I was wondering, while I do use Nutiva Coconut Oil on a regular, could I substitute the oil for butter? And if I could, would it be 1/2 cup of butter? Thanks so much! I will be reading your blog a lot more!! xo

    1. Ali Morris says:

      Hi! Thanks so much for commenting and I’m glad you have enjoyed the recipe and the blog! Wow you have landed yourself a tricky diet there haha, I hope you are going well with it. Yes I have found that butter and coconut oil are quite easily interchangeable which is a great thing! And half a cup would be perfect – whenever I am swapping, I do it cup for cup. The same for Xylitol to sugar – if you wanted to use coconut sugar you could swap out the xylitol for the same amount. Please let me know how you go!! Thanks again for stopping by 🙂 xx

  2. Pamela Collier says:

    Many times you can substitute apple sauce for oil and even eggs in a recipe. Are you just trying to be completely vegan or allergic to eggs? I am allergic to nuts, some spices like cinnamon and preservatives like red dye. It is really hard to find food or even recipes that “fit all my allergies”. I am not gluten intolerant but just like many gluten free foods and think they are better for you.

    1. Hi Pamela, sorry for my slow response! I’ve just returned to Australia and I finally have my wifi connected again.
      I personally can eat eggs, although I prefer to supply recipes without eggs for those who are vegan or have an egg allergy. Thanks for your suggestions! Now that I’m back I will be able to test these out.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

