A successful man enters the water…

Today I went to Bikram Yoga at the centre at Mermaid Beach on the Gold Coast, 5 mins from my home for the first time in a month or so. Had a GREAT class! My favourite instructor Mara was on today, she is such a lovely and insightful person, her words always soothe me or get my mind to open up, sometimes both.

Today she told a story that stuck with me (well she told two, the other I’ll be posting on my writing blog “wordleberry”).

A young man knows of a very successful man and wants to know what his secret is. 

He goes up to the successful man and says “I know you are very successful and I’m wondering if you will make a time to talk to me and tell me how you have done it.”

“Of course,” says successful man, “meet me at the beach tomorrow morning at 4am.”

The young man agrees and the following morning goes down to the beach at 4am and sees the man standing in the water.

“Come into the water,” says the man.

“I just wanted to talk to you,” says the young man.

“Yes, just come into the water and we will talk.”

The young man walks down into the water to stand beside the successful man. The man grabs the young mans head and pushes it under water, he holds it there for a minute or so until the young man thinks he may die. 

Once out of the water he yells “What the hell are you doing? I just wanted to talk to you about how you have become successful, not to be drowned!”

The successful man replies “If you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, it will happen.”

What do you think of that message?

If you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, it will happen.

The things you say you want, do you really want them? Do you want them enough? You want to eat better, get fitter, lose weight, gain weight, get creative, be outdoors, study something, do this, do that… but you can’t, you can’t, you can’t…. (I don’t even like putting the words “you can’t” on the page – the negativity evoked from those words is astounding) … Do you really want it as bad as you breathe?

And if you do, keep believing you will succeed, because you will.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

