Vegan Pumpkin Scones: Wheat-free, dairy-free, soy-free, nut-free, vegan.

pumpkin scones

I made some pumpkin muffins last week with a maple syrup frosting that I’m still perfecting the recipe on. While making these for the second time, my boyfriend/guinea pig excitedly suggested pumpkin scones if I had any leftover pumpkin. So I thought I would give them a whirl and they turned out DELICIOUS!

I usually mash together recipes and last week I realised I should post the links (if I can keep track of them! Sometimes I click on 6 or 7 before writing anything down), so that you can use the original recipe if you prefer. I change them to suit my needs, change mine or theirs to suit yours! 🙂

I have adapted this recipe from the following three websites:

http://gfvegmama.blogspot.com.au/2012/01/gluten-free-vegan-pumpkin-cinnamon.html

http://veganforeveryone.com/recipes/pumpkin-scones/?nav=top10

http://vegetarian.about.com/od/breakfastrecipe1/r/pumpkinscones.htm

I also realised I should put allergen/intolerance labels on the recipes, so have updated some like so:

Contains allergens as indicated in bold: spelt flour

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Dry:

  • 3 1/2 cups spelt flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon Xylitol (or other sugar or sugar substitute)
  • + 1/4 cup spare spelt if mixture is too wet, and some finer flour (like brown rice flour [could use spelt if you wanted]) for spreading on the bench

Wet:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup oat milk (or other dairy substitute)
  • 1 cup pureed / mashed pumpkin (boil or steam a quarter of a medium pumpkin, that should see you through. I like to use half of a small butternut pumpkin)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 Celsius
  2. Sift dry ingredients into a bowl (or if you are like me – just whisk all of them together to get air into the flour and mix evenly)
  3. Combine pumpkin, oil and milk together, remembering if the pumpkin and milk are cold the oil will solidify. I warm up the pumpkin which I had in the fridge with the milk a little in the microwave. Some recipes used canned pumpkin but a) I have never seen any and b) it kinda grosses me out
  4. Add wet to dry
  5. Fold together with a wooden spoon until it sticks well together, then use your hands just a little bit into a ball, you will be able to tell if the mixture is too gluggy if it needs some more flour
  6. Roll out onto the floured bench top, spread out with your hands into a square shape about an inch and half thick
  7. Cut into about 12 squares (most people make their scones a little round but I kinda like the square shape, it’s different)
  8. Lay out on baking paper on a baking tray

    Right before I popped them in the oven!
  9. Bake for 12-15 mins, until scones have risen and a toothpick comes out clean

    Fresh from the oven!

These scones are delicious with some nuttelex, tofutti or coconut yoghurt, or whatever you like!

Om nom nom nom!!!
Om nom nom nom!!!

I hope you enjoy them, I think they are going to become a staple in this house!

Leave a Reply

