Carob Oat Cookies with Chia Seeds: Wheat-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free

These quick and easy Carob Oat Cookies I put together one Saturday afternoon when I had a massive craving for chocolate! Instead of popping to the local shop and buying a block of Cadbury (holy hell it has been MONTHS since I have done that! The revelation makes me happy and proud, and I also want to say that I don’t even WANT to do that, the idea didn’t occur to me to even do it, I am evolving!) I looked in my pantry and at a few recipes I had laying around.

After finding nothing that really stood out to me, I created the below recipe. Well I created A recipe, which I then tested a few more times until I found it to be pretty damn delicious, so delicious I want to share!

Contains possible allergens as indicated in bold: egg, spelt, oats

Ingredients:

Wet:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted a little (maybe 10-20 secs in microwave)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence (optional)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup xylitol (this is a dry ingredient but I mix it in with the coconut oil, XYLITOL is a sugar substitute – you can use sugars if you like)
  • 1-2 tablespoons agave syrup (or maple, honey…)

Dry:

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup spelt flour
  • 1 1/2 cups oats (have a spare 1/2 cup on hand)
  • 1 tablespoon carob powder (or cacao / cocoa)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon cacao nibs or choc chips (optional- check for dairy/milk and milk solids in ingredients)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (optional)

Method:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl
  2. Mix the wet
  3. Mix together until well combined. Add up to another 1/2 cup of oats if mixture if too runny (up to 2 cups max, otherwise they will get too dry, and if too runny will just flatten out into one big cookie haha, yes I did do it, my first batch)
  4. Make balls in your hands then squish out into cookies on a tray with baking paper
  5. Like almost all my recipes this one is messy – by the end of the bowl your hands will be sticky and covered in carob-y goodness. Yes I may have licked my hands just a little at this stage
  6. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius for around 15 mins (note: non-fan-forced oven)

Makes: 10-12 cookies

Prep time: 5-10mins

I hope you enjoy these delicious carob cookies as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

