Homemade coconut oil chocolates! Dairy-free and refined-sugar free

1091 - Version 2

I love chocolate. Love it. I love tucking into a delicious bite of chocolate as I sip a wine watching my favourite movie, will killing that afternoon snack craving, while… being awake really!

I have tried a few recipes for coconut oil chocolates but this one really simple and delicious from Natural Health Strategies, you can find the original post here: http://www.naturalhealthstrategies.com/how-to-make-chocolate.html

I of course played around with it a little so here is my amended version:

Free from: gluten, wheat, soy, dairy, nuts, seeds, refined sugar, hydrogenated vegetable fat, emulsifiers, artificial preservatives

The recipe below will make 2 ice cube trays of chocolate bites

Ingredients:

  • 12 tablespoons of organic coconut oil
  • 10 tablespoons of organic cacao powder (you could also use plain cocoa or carob instead – I should use carob but I was being naughty :/ )
  • 10 level tablespoons desiccated coconut
  • 1-2 tablespoons xylitol (sugar substitute available from health stores)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut sugar
  • – note: you could use both “sugar” tablespoons as all xylitol, or all coconut sugar, or all of whatever kind of sweetener floats your boat. (special note: stevia is much stronger than sugars and xylitol so be careful with your quantities)
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla essence

You could add in ingredients, or sub out the coconut for something else, like nuts or fresh mint. Experiment!

Method:

  1. combine oil and sugars in a microwave safe bowl (I used a glass measuring jug) and microwave in 20 second increments to help the xylitol and sugar dissolve a little – otherwise I find xylitol stays very crispy in the chocolate, which mind you some people enjoy so it’s up to you really. I prefer a smoother chocolate bite.
  2. carefully take the warm / hot oil from the microwave (you could also have done this in a pot over the stove if you prefer)
  3. stir in the cacao, coconut and vanilla
  4. spoon into the ice cube trays and put in the fridge to set (from 15 mins to an hour depending on how hot your oil was)
  5. store in a container in the fridge until ready to eat

Keep in mind coconut oil melts at 18 degrees so will melt in your hand or in a lunchbox etc

I used a cute flexible (and cheap) heart-shaped ice cube tray, and a tupperware mini-muffin flexi-pan and only filled up the mini muffin half way.

This is just my version of an awesome recipe – I encourage you to play around with the quantities and make something you love. My next ones might have some peppermint oil in them….

1092 - Version 2

They are the perfect sized chocolate treat, enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

