Tomato, Lentil and Bacon dip: Gluten-free, wheat-free, dairy-free, soy-free.

lentil tomato dip 2

Long time no see! Where have I been? On an adventure across the world. For the past five months I have been working my way from Australia through South-East Asia, across China, Mongolia and Russia, around Germany and France, and I’m now in the UK. I’ve had a few weeks to settle in the one place with lovely friends who treat my partner and I like family, and to repay the kindness I’ve had the luxury of using their kitchen and whipping up dinner.

Being able to cook again has done wonders for my creative soul. I love to cook. And it has also given me the chance to recover from all the indulgences I have allowed myself while moving around. It can be harder (impossible for me) to stay on track with a diet that I know is better for me while travelling as the things I am used to are not always readily available. More on that in another post.

This recipe was inspired by my love of lentils and bacon. The tomatoes were added in a desire to create some kind of starter / appetiser / salsa for my lovely friends. I think it works out a treat.

Firstly…

About Puy lentils:

The lentils in this recipe are called “Puy” lentils (pronounced p-oi, like “oi” to aussies, or “koi” like the fish.) They are also known as french green lentils. They are a great source of protein.
They retain some of their crunchy-ness even when cooked so do not turn to mush like red lentils. They also have a nice peppery flavour. Add them to pastas, salads, dips…
I have used a packet of ready-to-go lentils, if you cannot find these, the dried version do not need soaking, but will need to be cooked for about 15-20mins before using in this recipe.

Recipe:

Prep time: <5 min
Cooking time: <20min
Serves: 4-6

Allergen info: gluten-free, wheat-free, dairy-free, soy-free, nut-free, refined sugar-free, egg-free, onion-free
Always read your labels.

Ingredients:

  • 1 x 450gm can of diced tomatoes (organic is preferable, always check the labels for added substances)
  • 1 x 180gm packet of diced bacon (you may choose to dice yourself. I use smoked bacon for flavour but unsmoked is fine too)
  • 1 x 250gm ready-to-eat puy / french lentils
  • 1 tbsp preferred oil (I used EVOO)
  • 1 tsp favourite herbs – such as dried oregano (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste (you shouldn’t need much salt as this may come from your tomatoes)

Method:

  1. Heat oil in a medium saucepan over high heat
  2. Add bacon pieces and cook until bacon is browning and getting crispy (beware of fat spatter, not bacon may also appear to have a lot of liquid when first cooking, but this will dry up and bacon will crisp)
  3. Add in the puy lentils and can of tomatoes
  4. Simmer to thicken for about 10mins, while simmering add in your salt, pepper and herbs. Taste then adjust.
  5. Serve warm with favourite corn chips

tomato lentil dip 1

Leftovers:
You might find yourself with a nice helping leftover – reheat in a saucepan and add in your favourite tomato-based pasta sauce and serve over freshly cooked gluten-free/rice & corn pasta

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do, it’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

